A Moving Nightmare, the Inside Out Of It All!

Okay, I need everyone to stay with me during this post. It’s going to be long and start off as a ranting story. Also, be forewarned, I’m probably going to be using some language that I really try not to use on this blog, but I just have to go there today. It’s also not going to seem like it has anything to do with entertainment, but stick with me I’ll get to it and it will hopefully make sense.

Last week, I was supposed to move to South Dakota to start my new job on July 1. I’m really looking forward to my new job and can’t wait to get started. I’m anxious about the move to South Dakota, but I’ve moved far away from family and friends before and survived. Heck, I’ve even kind of thrived on the friendship front when I lived in North Dakota and Arkansas. Really I’m just dreading being in a “city” of 26,000 people, and that being the third largest city in the state. I’m also not looking forward to snow and bitter cold, but I’ll survive!

I say I was supposed to move last week, because back in early June I had contracted a moving service to come pick all of my stuff out of storage either the afternoon of Wednesday, June 17th or the morning of Thursday, June 18th. I was then going to drive up on the 19th or 20th and have a solid week and a half to get acclimated to my new home and most importantly get Homer, the beast, used to his new home so he would be okay being left at home while I am at work. I had signed an agreement with them and had paid a $700 deposit.

The company told me that about a week before the agreed upon pick up date a customer service representative would contact me and confirm my cargo and give me the details on the carrier and pick up time. So when I hadn’t heard from the company the weekend before, I was getting a little nervous, but was trying to stay optimistic. On Monday, the 15th I got an email from the company that I should call them and confirm everything and that we were a go for pick up on either the 17th or 18th. So I immediately called them and got put on hold for ten minutes and then told that they needed to take a message and that the service rep would call me back shortly. This was at 9:15 a.m. When I had not heard back from them by 3:30 I called them back, and got put on hold. After about five minutes I finally talked to Seth, the customer service representative. We went over the new inventory list and then he told me that it would be on Thursday afternoon that they would be picking my stuff up and that they would call me the next day, Tuesday to finalize all the details.

So Tuesday came and went and I did not hear from them. Ever the optimist I assumed that everything was okay and that I would hear from them sometime Wednesday morning. But alas it was not to be. So Wednesday around 11:00 a.m. I called them back and was told that unfortunately the carrier that was supposed to pick my stuff up had cancelled on them and they were working on finding a new carrier, but they would call me back in the early afternoon with the new arrangements. I was confused about exactly how that could happen and was told that it didn’t normally happen, but since I was moving to South Dakota it shouldn’t be that surprising. I was somewhat taken aback by that and asked if she was saying that this was my fault. And the woman said no, she was just saying that it was not their fault that they could not find a driver that did not want to deliver to a state that no one travels to. Wow, while apparently this is not my fault, I definitely should contact the South Dakota University system and see if they could get their state colleges moved to a more populated state. Now by this point and time the optimist in me had started to die, but I said “okay, you are saying you are going to honor your commitment to me, right?” She assured me that they were going to and I assured her that they better because if I did not get moved this week it was not going to go well for them.

Well by 4:00 on that day I still had not heard back from them so I called them, and after being put on hold again for at least 5 minutes I got Customer Service Rep. Seth. Seth informed me that they were still working on finding a new carrier, but that my stuff would be picked up on either Saturday or Sunday, but I would need to sign a new agreement approving those dates. Now I need to stop here and say that by this time I was pretty sure that Customer Service Rep. Seth had failed any classes he may have taken on Customer Service Relationships. I don’t want to call him a jerk, ass or f’ing moron, because I have family and friends that are jerks, asses and f’ing morons that I do not wish to offend by comparing them to Customer Service Rep. Seth. So when C.S.R. Seth told me, or maybe I should say ordered me to sign a new agreement or they would not be offering me any assistance, I got a bit defensive and said I didn’t know if I was comfortable doing that as they had not been honest with me and I didn’t know that I trusted them. Again he said that without a newly signed agreement nothing could be done, so I told him that fine I would sign it, but if my stuff was not picked up over the weekend I would be contacting an attorney and would do everything I could to get their business as bad a name as possible all over the internet. To which CSR Seth said “threats will not get you anywhere.” I told him that I was not threatening him that I was stating a fact. But I agreed to sign off on the new dates and then said that I needed him to call me back the next day to give me an update. He said he did not know if he would have an answer by noon the next day, but he would give me an update either way. I then hung up with him and got on line and did an electronic signature signing off on the new dates.

I spent all day Thursday checking my iPhone every five minutes to see if I was missing a call. I called a few friends and family members just to make sure my phone was working. Anxiously awaiting the call confirming everything. The call which never came.

First thing Friday morning, I got on the phone and called them. Only to get put on hold for another five minutes, and then having the operator come on line and tell me that all their customer service reps were busy and that they would have somebody call me right back. Now I am dumb, but not that dumb. I said no, I was not going to have someone call me back, I was going to wait on line until I talked to a manager. I politely explained to the operator, that I understood that she was just doing her job and my issues were not her fault, but I had been told one time too many that someone was going to call me back, only to never have that call come and I was going to speak to someone now. After what seemed like 30 minutes but was probably only 5 minutes, I got CSR Seth on the phone. He immediately started in asking why I was calling, he had told me on Wednesday that they would contact me with the time of the pick up or either Saturday or Sunday. To which I said that he had also told me that he was going to call me back the day before and give me an update and he had not, so since he had lied to me about that how did I know he wasn’t lying to me about the weekend pick-up. Well now CSR Seth is all defensive. He is not lying to me. So I asked him, did he not tell me he was going to call me back yesterday. And he said yes he did, but he didn’t call me back because he had nothing to report. To which I said, but you should have called me back to tell me that. His response was that what would have been the point of that, and by this time my mind is boiling and I simply said “Oh I don’t know, so I wouldn’t think you weren’t the liar that you obviously are.”

Okay, I know that was not the nicest thing to say, but I think it was deserved. I have a policy with students I deal with in judicial matters, I will give you the benefit of the doubt until you lie to me once, after that you are a liar in my eyes and you’re going to have to work a little harder to get my trust back. CSR Seth had lied to me more than once, so at this point and time I’m not even sure his real name is Seth.

So now Seth is in total douche mode and said that the carrier is scheduled to pick up my stuff either Saturday or Sunday and that the carrier will call me directly to let me know what time and that is all the news he has for me. At this point and time, I have no choice but to take their word for it and so I left it at that and hung up. Praying that a driver would contact me the next day.

Saturday came and went, with no call from a carrier. Sunday, no call. Nothing. My phone was working. I know because I called it myself. THREE TIMES!

Monday morning, I waited until 8:00 to call. Even though the company is on Eastern Time, so it was really 9:00. Again put on hold for 10 minutes, until I guess they were done playing Rock Paper Scissors, to see who was going to get to toy with me on this day. CSR Seth, apparently lost, or won, not for sure which, but he didn’t get/have to talk to me. No I got CSR Sarah, the same one I had talked to on Wednesday. You know the one who had not-blamed me for moving to South Dakota. She had no idea why the carrier had not contacted me over the weekend, but she was going to find out immediately and call me back in thirty minutes with an answer. Imagine my surprise when an hour later she still had not called. So, I called at 9:15, and after another 5 minute wait I got CSR Sarah again. She still didn’t have an answer for me but was working hard on it and would call me back within an hour. I was beyond upset at this point and said I didn’t understand what was going on. She said that their second carrier cancelled on them too, and she was trying to find a new carrier. When I asked her when the second carrier cancelled. she said she had no idea, but she was going to find a new carrier and call me back by 10:30 with a definite date and time. I told her that I expected a call no matter what, even if she had no information, just to give me an update. She assured me she would.

Now I know you will be as surprised as I was that by 11:30 she had still not called me back. So I called again, and again a nice five plus minute wait on hold, before CSR Sarah gets on the line. And the first thing she says to me was something along the line of “Mr. Sabolo I need you to understand that every time you call us harassing us is less time I can spend finding a carrier.” MY CALLING HER IS HARASSMENT!? REALLY?! WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH THESE PEOPLE? WHERE DID THEY LEARN CUSTOMER SERVICE? Now I’m beyond pissed. I was like “hold on here, you told me you would call me back, you didn’t call me back so I’m calling you.” To which she says that if she took the time to call me back, it would be less time she could spend finding a carrier to get my stuff delivered. To which I said “You mean the three weeks you have had to do that wasn’t enough time?” She then starts in about how hard it is to arrange these things and how I need to be patient.

Now I’ve lost it, I’m basically screaming and crying and asking her how she can say that to me when my life is the one she is messing with. My job requires me to be there the next week, and I can’t just wait around for them to find a carrier. They have had plenty of time, they knew when they bid on my business that I was going to South Dakota. There is no excuse for this.

Her response is that it’s not their fault and that they are doing the best they can. By now, I’m seeing red and just amazed at her attitude. I asked her exactly how she can live with herself knowing that her company doesn’t care at all what they do to people’s lives. She has no idea what I am going through and to sit on the other line acting like it is no big deal to her, is unbelievable. Again, she just says it’s not their fault and they are doing the best they can do and she will call me back as soon as she has an answer for me and that there is no reason for me to call back. She will call me when she has an answer for me.

Now I want to point out to all of you that at absolutely no point and time in any of my conversations with these people have they ever uttered the words “I’m sorry”, “I apologize”, or even “I feel bad”. These people didn’t care at all about what this was doing to my life. They couldn’t care less about the stress this was creating on my life. They have no feelings at all about the people’s lives they are messing with. They are apparently soulless individuals.

After my last phone call with them, I spent the next two hours on the phone with other moving companies and U-Haul to come up with a Plan B. Plan B for me has ended up being renting a U-Haul this coming Sunday (the absolute earliest I could get one), hiring two people for two hours to come and load up my stuff with me on Sunday afternoon and then on Monday loading my car up on a trailer behind the truck and driving up to Aberdeen, SD, and hopefully arriving there later Monday night. Don’t even ask me how I’m going to pull of driving that truck while towing a car. Thankfully the staff that I am working with at Northern State University are wonderful people, and about a dozen of them have volunteered to help me unload on Tuesday. The silver lining of this rain cloud is I know I made the right decision in joining that wonderful team!

After coming up with Plan B, I contacted the company and again got to talk to CSR Sarah. She immediately went all defensive about me calling her and she was still working hard to find a carrier. I told her that she did not need to work on it any further, I had made alternative arrangements and that I expected a full refund of my $700. She quickly said she would do that immediately and then hung up on me. And before you ask, no I don’t trust them and yes I will be making sure they refund me and will report them to the Better Business Bureau and will do all I can to get the word out on this company.

InsideOut

Well, since you have stuck with me through all of this story, I guess I should tell you what this has to do with entertainment. Today I went to see Inside Out, the new Disney/Pixar film. The critics have loved the film and have called it one of Pixar’s best films. And I did enjoy myself at the movie. But I’m not for sure that it is one of their best. It certainly isn’t nearly as good as UP! It is however a great and original concept.

If you don’t know what it is about it’s about a little girl, Riley and the five key emotions inside her head and how they help her live her life. The five emotions focused on in the movie are Joy, Sadness, Fear, Disgust and Anger. The main theme of the movie is basically that we need all five of these emotions for us to be healthy and survive. Little eleven year old Riley has been a happy little girl, but her father has accepted a new job in San Francisco and they have to move from Minnesota. Riley has felt the pressure of her family to stay happy throughout this move and that joy has kept Riley from acknowledging the natural sadness that she feels leaving her past life behind.

There are some great moments in the film, however there are a few moments that seem a little forced to be way to abstract and smart. A whole bit where they are dealing with Creativity and emotions seemed a little over my head, so I’m not for sure how little kids are supposed to get it. But all in all the film is enjoyable. The voices portraying the emotions are perfectly cast. The message will tug at your heart strings. And the writers were right on with the five key emotions. I know because as I dealt with my moving drama, I felt all five of those emotions….

InsideOut2

  • Sadness – Preparing to leave my family and friends as I move 800 miles away. Sadness that there are people in this world who could show such disinterest and lack of feeling for others.
  • Fear – What if I can’t figure out a possible Plan B? How will I get to Aberdeen in time? How in the world am I going to drive a 20 ft. U Haul truck towing a Dodge Charger behind it? What if I get up there and the job isn’t all I think it is going to be? What if I’m not all that the people who hired me want me to be?
  • Disgust – I’m disgusted that companies like APOLLO RELOCATION SERVICES exist. I’m disgusted that people can people maintain jobs working with the public when they have no business talking to people in the manner these people talked to me. I’m disgusted at the thought of all the other people this company has done this too.
  • Anger – I think this one is pretty self-explanatory and understandable. I mean seriously who wouldn’t feel anger at these people and the emotional stress and frustration they have made of my last few days with my family and friends
  • Joy – The joy I felt when I heard how my new co-workers were lining up to help me move. The joy I felt when I knew there was a plan B. The Joy I know I will feel as I begin the next chapter in my life.

And just like in the movie, I know that all of these emotions are important to help me make it through this chapter in my life. I really encourage everyone to go see the movie and embrace all of those emotions within yourself. It will help you see things Inside Out!

Leave a Reply

