Not All McCarthyism Is Bad

McCarthy

The World really needs more Melissa McCarthy. No seriously, she needs to be cloned. But by a real good cloner that doesn’t tamper with the product so that everyone gets to have the genuine real her. This woman is my ideal woman. Smart, brassy, sexy, funny, fun, honest, and I just bet she is super nice. And I don’t want anyone telling me she isn’t nice, because I would have to call you a liar and assume you were mean to her and she called you out on it.

Now I never caught on to the whole Gilmore Girls craze, so I have no idea how she was on that show, but there is no doubt in my mind that she totally owned it. I really had no idea who she was until Mike & Molly came along. Now if you don’t watch Mike & Molly that’s okay, it’s not appointment television for me either. It’s pretty typical CBS comedy stuff, although not quite as double entendreish as most of Chuck Lorre’s stuff, but there is some of that in it. But the chemistry between her and Billy Gardell is great so it’s always fun to pass 30 minutes. And you get to do it with Melissa McCarthy.

Bridesmaids

She really didn’t come into the world’s consciousness until Bridesmaids, but since then she has been a force to be reckoned with. Identity Thief, The Hangover Part III, Tammy, The Heat, and St. Vincent. All of them are stellar performances by Ms. McCarthy. Not all are stellar movies, in fact with maybe two exceptions, they aren’t even good films, but La McCarthy delivers performances that will entertain and enthrall. I can’t wait to see Spy this weekend. I promise to post a review as soon as I see it….which I hope is tomorrow night.

Spy

But it’s just not her acting roles that makes me love her. It’s her essence. Listen to her during an interview. She’s funny as hell, without ever coming across as rude or disingenuous. She’s smart as can be. She can be bawdy. She can be classy. She can be serious and drive home a point. About the only thing I don’t think she can be is fake. She knows who she is and makes no apologies for it, in fact she loves who she is and wants you to love her too. But unlike others out there if you don’t like her, she may not be crushed, but you know that her feelings would be hurt and she would want to know why so she could defend herself. Not change herself, but help you to understand her. That is a rare trait in a Hollywood star.

There are some great comediennes out there today; Wanda Sykes, Ellen DeGeneres, Amy Schumer, Julia Louis Dreyfuss, Amy Poehler, Maya Rudolph, Sarah Silverman, Rosie O’Donnell, Roseanne Barr, and Tina Fey (yeah I saved her for last, because she cracks me up almost as much as McCarthy) plus a few other dozen come to mind. But there are none who to me have the charm, class and down to earth reality of McCarthy.

EWCover

Entertainment Weekly recently put her on the cover of their magazine, and it was one great cover. The story was even better. I fell just a little more in love with her as I read it. Especially the part where they told about her calling out a critic who questioned her husband, who had directed her in Tammy, for allowing her to play the role in such an unattractive way. If you have not seen the movie, she plays the title character, a woman with severe depression and borderline psychological deficiencies. Of course the look was appropriate for the role, but the critic was bugged by it. When McCarthy ran across this critic later she asked him some pretty pointed questions about whether he would have questioned the same things if the role had been played by a guy, and then she used that moment to educate the guy on the message his review sends not only to other people but to his own daughter. But she did it with class and style. Exactly what I would expect from her.  You go, Melissa!

McCarthy2

I don’t want to say much about her physical characteristics, because that doesn’t matter a whole lot to me. I think she is gorgeous and sexy. Yeah, she has to shop in the plus size department. Sometimes I do too. Get over it. She knows she isn’t a size 1, nor do I believe she aspires to be. I think she aspires to be happy. And ain’t nothing wrong with that. Lord knows whenever I see her in a movie, or on TV or hear her do an interview on the radio I am happy, and who can argue with that? Not me.  Nor would I argue with having just a few more of her in this world!


This has been a Finish the Sentence Friday post, where writers and bloggers gather around the week’s prompt. This week’s is “The world really needs more…”
Your host is the superhero Kristi from Finding NineeYour co-hosts this week are Shelley from Slightly Off Kilterand Anna from Fitfunner Blog.

6 thoughts on “Not All McCarthyism Is Bad

  1. I’m a fan of Melissa McCarthy as well. I actually was/am into Gilmore Girls (see my FTSF post), and really enjoyed her performances. She brought a wonderful comedic presence to her role, and just thinking about her character is bringing a smile to my face as I’m writing this. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I love Melissa McCarthy too! And how awesome that she handled that critic with grace and also educated him. Seriously great. Thank you so much for linking up with Finish the Sentence!

    Like

  3. Love this – she is indeed a gem. As for the Gilmore Girls I admire her all the more. Why? Her character is so very different from all the ones she’s played lately. How was Spy? Please tell me it’s even better than it looks

    Like

Leave a Reply

