Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing!

untitled (17)

When it comes to Saint Patrick’s Day all I want is some good corned beef and cabbage. But the problem is, I don’t eat beef anymore. I gave it up a few years ago. It really wasn’t that hard. I’m not big into steaks. And no that doesn’t, make me un-American, un-Texas maybe, but not un-American. I used to love hamburgers, but I ate way too many fast food burgers. I do occasionally crave a thick juicy real hamburger, but I survive. Other than that I can pretty much substitute ground turkey or pork sausage in place of beef for things like meatballs, tacos, lasagna, etc. But not corned beef and cabbage. I mean turkey pastrami or something like that just isn’t a replacement for corned beef.

Sometimes you just can’t replace the original. So why bother? Did you hear that everyone, especially Hollywood People, why replace the original. Yep, that’s right, I found a way to continue my rant about remakes, reboots, or whatever you want to call them. The reality is that Hollywood is a messed up group of idiots that hasn’t had an original thought in years. Okay, that’s not fair. I’m sure someone there has had an original thought, but the powers that be don’t seem to be listening. Okay again, that’s not fair. They are doing some original stuff, but they seem to have to offset each original film with two do-overs.

Come on, how many Batmans do we need. Or Spidermans. Or Supermans. Or Hulks. Really, in my life we have had at least five Batmans, four Spidermans, seven Supermans and four Hulks. That’s just on the live action superhero front, I’m not for sure how many we have had in animation. And don’t even get me started on Romeos, Juliets, Gatsbys or Norman Bateses. Those are just the drama characters that come to my mind quickly. I’m sure there are a whole slew of them that I’m forgetting or just never made my radar…..especially in the horror genre.

The television front isn’t any better. Almost every year at least one network or another is touting some reboot of a “classic show.” I’m not really sure what annoys me most about that, the remake or the fact that they consider some of those shows classics. I’m a child of the seventies and loved Charlie’s Angels, The Bionic Woman, and Hawaii Five-O. But are they really classics? And did they need to be remade, and poorly at that. Yes, I know some people love the new Hawaii Five-O, but those people are wrong. And yes if you are one of them I am calling you wrong. Deal. And did we need reboots of Dallas, Beverly Hills 90210, and Melrose Place. Okay, yes we needed the reboot of Dallas. In fact we need it to be rebooted again TNT. Get on that, already. But we did not need reboots of most of the other crap they have been putting out, especially that 902Whatever. That was bad, as in really bad! How it made it for four seasons says something about just how desperate the CW was for a while there. I mean for about five years they were just one step above Bravo. I kept waiting for them to put a Real Housewife on.

Then there is the whole TV show to movie remake thing. That list is kind of ridiculous. And by kind of, I mean completely and totally ridiculous. And I don’t know what annoys me more; when they try to turn a television show into a movie keeping the same feel of the show (think Miami Vice), or when they try to completely redo the show (think Charlie’s Angels…..shame on you Drew Barrymore, shame on you).

images (3)

It’s just stupid that they want to catch the zeitgeist a second time. The American viewing audience isn’t that dumb. Are we? Well except for those that watch the Kardashians, but those people don’t count. No, I mean those people literally don’t count or read, so they don’t realize what they are watching.

I guess what I am getting at is that there are lots of original ideas out there. There really are. In my mind alone I have a few dozen ideas that I would go see if they made them into a movie or television show. I bet you have a few as well. The powers that be in Hollywood are hoping that name recognition will sell the movie so they don’t have to sell it with something as hard to find as, say QUALITY! But, I would rather watch an original storyline idea with the crappy quality of acting and storytelling as the two reboots we have had of the Transformers than those two reboots.

Okay, maybe I’m done with my rant. Well at least for a few days. I’m sure sometime next week I’ll read a report of a reboot of some great movie or television show that will get me started all over again. But I’ll survive it. Probably because as I was typing this I realized that I probably won’t die if I give in and have some real corned beef this week. After all there’s nothing like the real thing.

untitled (17)

____________________________________________________________________

This post was inspired by the Finish The Sentence Friday prompt of “When it comes to St. Patrick’s Day …” formore information check out the facebook group Finish The Sentence Friday.

8 thoughts on “Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing!

  1. True – there’s nothing quite like the real thing, especially when it comes to traditional holiday meals. Corned beef is a particular taste and if you’re going to do it, do it right. We passed up some at the deli today, even with St. Patrick’s Day right around the corner. I’m sure I’ll change my mind, though, and end up back there tomorrow before they close.
    Happy weekend!

    Like

    • I go through this whole problem every march. Every place I go has either Corned Beef or Reubens and I struggle with my not eating beef. Last year I made it. This year I just feel like I won’t, since I’m with my mom now and she knows how to do it right.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I think Corned Beef is one of those things that has to be fixed right and eaten when hot. As far as that new Hawai Five-O, how can they even call that guy in cargo pants and a t-shirt McGarrett….everyone knows Steve only wore suits.

      Like

  2. I’m not a corned beef fan but also realize that I only tried it once about 30 years ago and maybe my mom just made it wrong. Maybe I should try again. And the remakes. Sigh. I can’t do any of them. As far as movies though, two people at work made me promise to watch Whiplash tonight so… we’ll see! Have you seen it?

    Like

  3. I’ve given up on the corned beef and cabbage because I’m the only one in my house who eats it and it’s just not worth the time (or expense) to make it just for myself.

    As far as the remakes/reboots? I am with you 100%! Why did they find it necessary to turn Starskey & Hutch into a slapstick movie? Or Dukes of Hazzard into . . . well, whatever that mess was.

    I’ll admit to watching Hawaii Five-0, however. Only because it’s on before Blue Bloods, of course. Well, that and the fact that I have a bit of a girl-crush on Grace Park. 🙂

    Like

  4. You know, I was thinking about this topic this morning when I read about both of the Ghostbusters re-makes. I mean, why would anyone do that? I think that the actresses and actors in those movies can be quite funny, so why saddle them with a retread? Oh well…..

    Like

    • Don’t even get me started on The Ghostbusters debacle. I was almost in favor of the all female version. It’s not a remake or a reboot, just something different, then us men have to get our hands on it and have our all male version. RIDICULOUS!

      Like

Leave a Reply

