So What’s This Whole Blog Thing About?

This past Sunday I posted on FB my picks for the 2015 Academy Awards, and was surprised at the people that liked my post or commented on it. Then later in the night I decided to live stream on FB throughout the telecast, and was enjoying the comments that friends were making to my posts. Then one of my friends posted on my page

“Who needs to watch the Oscars when u have Marty Sabolo live streaming updates on fb. lol”

And I thought….”Damn right! Why isn’t everyone following along with my commentary?”

Then it hit me, everyone in America wasn’t following along for a few reasons. One, because I am not friends with everyone, two not everyone is on FB, and three, and in all reality probably the most important one is because I was not as entertaining in everyone else’s mind as I am in mine. I mean in my mind I was killing it. Well at least more than Neil Patrick Harris was. But then again after the opening number, which was great, that wasn’t too hard to do.

So, I started thinking about it and decided I wanted to start an entertainment blog, not just any entertainment blog but one with my thoughts on movies and television shows. So I asked my friends what they thought, and one of them said really quickly that she would read it, as long as I kept it irreverent. So, after I looked up the word irreverent (okay, really I didn’t have to look it up, but I thought that sounded witty) I came up with a title for my blog and what I hope might be my own little twist to this blog.

So if you’ve read this far, you might be asking why you should care what this guy thinks about movies and TV shows and I could go with the obvious reason, which is that I have excellent taste. But I think I’ll go with another reason. Which is that while you may not agree with my opinion, you’re going to get it straight on. It’s not going to be some highbrow critic opining on what is art and what is not art. After all art is in the eye of the beholder. Well except for anything on Bravo. That is not art. That is crap. I might, on occasion, talk about directorial decisions, lighting effects, symbolism and blah, blah, blah.  But I’m not going to do it in a way that makes you think that I am some failed movie maker wannabe. I’m going to do it in a way that tells you why I liked it, how it made me feel, and how I hope it makes you feel.

One last thing you should probably know about me is that I honestly believe in the idea of education through entertainment. Movies can open your eyes and your mind. Television shows can make you think. And today’s pop culture can really push you out of your boundaries. So sometimes I might challenge you to think. I might even encourage you to watch a movie you don’t want to, and you may not enjoy (Rachel Getting Married comes to mind on that front, just ask anyone who worked for ATU Housing in 2009). And if you are one of those people who don’t think movies can change your life, well, Jeesh Jeb than I don’t think I even want to know you. For those of you wondering, that was my obligatory salute to The West Wing. Which was the best show to ever challenge the viewing public to actually think.

$(KGrHqR,!hoE6mEkw0UoBOvYNY82pQ~~60_35

Oh one last last thing.  Sunday I got all but one of my Oscar predictions right. And the one I missed, I did have the winner  listed as the possible upset. See I really do know my movies!

2 thoughts on “So What’s This Whole Blog Thing About?

Leave a Reply

